Posted by: dotnetninja | January 14, 2009

This version of the enterprise library cannot be installed side by side with version 4.0

I was trying to install latest version of the Enterprise library (4.1) and I was constantly receiving this error.

My previous version of the Enterprise Library was uninstalled (4.0) so I did not have any idea what it went wrong. On the Patterns and Practices codeplex page under discussion, I found resolution to this problem.

Remove the key “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Enterprise Library v4“.

The issue with the MSIs for 3.1 and 4.0 is that there are some duplicate component IDs. When uninstalling, reference counting kicks in and some components, like this registry key, are not deleted and must be manually cleared.

Responses

  1. Thanks for that. Had the same issue where uninstalling 4.0 didn’t remove the reg key. Saved me time trying to find it myself!

    • NP :)

  2. Thanks for sharing this information.

  3. [...] 4.0 already (and re-booted). After searching for the problem, I quickly found som tips (for example this) stating that removing the registry key “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftEnterprise Library [...]

  4. Thanks for sharing

  5. Thanks for this!

  6. Thanks mate.

  7. Cheers man!!

  8. Thanks, That resolved my issue.

  9. Perfect! Thank you!

  10. Much appreciated – was banging my head against a wall until I found this!
    Thanks for posting :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

